may and june challenge: repost

11 Jul

dear friends: i had to delete the previous version of this post because something happened and it did not upload properly.

——-

i have been on a bit of a blog hiatus. so here i am, attempting to squish two months into one post. do not be fooled: i have been keeping up with my challenges and am really excited to tell you about what i am doing for july!

may brought about some fun experiments. not only did i stop shampooing my hair for 6 weeks, i also made a slew of DIY products! my hair cleaning adventure did not last very long…..have you heard about the shampoo free method? you use 1 tbsp of baking soda to one cup of water for shampoo and 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar to one cup of water. i put both concoctions in spray bottles and kept them in the shower. they say that your hair will get use to not being shampooed, but mine totally didn’t. it was greasy. i did have good hair days, but the bad ones made me miss having nice clean hair. i probably won’t do that again!

i also found myself making my own deodorant, powdered laundry detergent, hand soap (fail!), fabric softner, and reusable dryer sheets. Except for the hand soap, I will definitely continue to make and use these!!!

homemade deodorant. i love this stuff!

laundry detergent – very little needed for each load!

ingredients for fabric softener and reusable dryer sheets

my june challenge was a yoga challenge. my brother and i took a class together which was so fun! i also kick started my challenge by going to a yoga retreat with my friend carly. we had a blast! (yoga photo cred goes to www.jodygoodwinphotography.com). i really enjoyed going to the yoga studio a few times a week. i always left feeling so refreshed and energized!

doing crazy yoga moves at the yoga retreat!

and just because i love sharing what i’m doing in my kitchen, here are a few photos of some delicious treats that came out of my kitchen in may:

one of my delicious kitchen creations – subbing quinoa for the conventional rice used in sushi

raw brownie, greek yogurt, sprinkled with carob powder and agave. delicious treat!

on a sidenote….my husband and i celebrated 5 years together on july 1st! i love this man!

on july 1st, my hubby and i celebrated 5 years together!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

