smothering the monster

4 Jan

i think i have a pretty good hold on the t.v. monster. i have been keeping very busy the last few days. but, interestingly, have not been sleeping well at night [probably due to the mega sleep-in i had the other day which i am still totally embarrassed about]. i have been reading like crazy, especially before bed – which, for normal humans, puts them to sleep, right? hmmmm….

actually, i am quite proud of myself. i haven’t been able to pick up a book since i graduated from university last year and i am nearly 1/3 of the way through a book i started a few days ago (i’m reading eat pray love – i’m a little behind on the bandwagon).

i read instead of watching t.v! that’s like, what superheroes do! [stay tuned for when i update you about how i have taken over the world! saving kittens left, right, and centre! just kidding, reading does not equate to saving the world, but i would save a kitten from a burning house with my hands tied behind my back  – just so you know. 

anyways….

yesterday my mom and i went out for lunch, which is toujours formidable!

today i spent lots of time in my kitchen. firstly because this is where i did my first workout (ya, i worked out TWICE today. i repeat – TWICE. its a christmas miracle a few weeks too late!) with my yoga mat, my interval timer and…..steel cut oats on the stove? NOT a good idea – way too hot!!!! i was a steamy sweaty mess! for my second workout, i went to yoga with my neighbor. i also kept busy in the kitchen by making some small energy balls that are just the right size to have as a snack (recipe below!).

also, while i was baking, i had a television crew in my living room. yes, you read that right. is that not so utterly, hilariously, ironic? (check out the photo below and click here to know more about why my husband was being interviewed – another late christmas miracle).

energy balls (makes 24)

1/3 c. honey

3/4 c. almond butter

1 tsp. pure vanilla

pinch of sea salt

1 c. old fashioned rolled oats

1 c. unsweetened shredded coconut

1/4 c. raw cacao nibs

1/4 c. walnuts, chopped

4 tbsp. ground flax

2 tbsp. ground cacao nibs

in a medium bowl, mix almond butter, honey and salt until smooth (heat if needed – i had to heat my honey because it was pretty hard). add the rest of the ingredients (except the last 2) and mix mix mix. place bowl in fridge for 1/2 an hour. meanwhile, ground flax and cacao nibs. when it is time, take the mixture from the fridge and form into balls about 3/4 of the size of a golf ball. roll in flax and cacao nibs. freeze for delicious and healthy snacks! i believe my huband’s words were “oh, oh wow. those are good!”

stay tuned for my next post where i will be giving you the recipe to this delicious lunch/dinner/anytime treat:

5 Responses to “smothering the monster”

  1. Laura 01'04'12 at 10'49'PM #

    mmmm, how did your balls turn out!?

    • brasstacksoncanvass 01'05'12 at 10'16'AM #

      They are SO GOOD Laura! I think they are the perfect purse snack for going to the mall or grocery store that you can munch on when you feel like your energy is low and you need something. I hope you try them!

      • denise 01'06'12 at 12'11'AM #

        I like how you call the TV your babysitter :) Another book recommendation would be “The Help”. You’ll find your rhythm soon and you won’t miss your babysitter at all. So funny that Jared was in the other room being interviewed… what a crazy story!!

      • brasstacksoncanvass 01'06'12 at 1'33'PM #

        Yes – I have heard that The Help is an amazing story – I will check it out!

  2. denise 01'06'12 at 12'14'AM #

    ps – reading before bed does NOT put me to sleep if it is a page turner… you have to read something not very exciting… probably non fiction :) And this sounds bad, but I fall asleep much easier if I read the Bible before going to sleep – not because it’s boring… but… well, you know!

Leave a Reply

